

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

REPORT NO. 24 – 24 SEPTEMBER 2019

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

The Hon Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC, Chair

The Hon Mark Buttigieg MLC, Deputy Chair

The Hon Mark Banasiak MLC

Mr Justin Field MLC

The Hon Trevor Khan MLC

The Hon Mark Latham MLC

The Hon Taylor Martin MLC

The Hon Shaoquett Moselmane MLC

Revd The Hon Fred Nile MLC

The Hon Mark Pearson MLC

Mr David Shoebridge MLC

Secretariat to the committee:

Ms Beverly Duffy, Clerk Assistant —Procedure (02 9230 3367)

Mr Alex Stedman, Principal Council Officer —Procedure (02 9230 2798)

SELECTION OF BILLS COMMITTEE

The Selection of Bills Committee met on Tuesday 24 September 2019 at 1.15 pm to consider whether the following bills should be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report:

- Right to Farm Bill 2019
- Road Transport Amendment (Miscellaneous) Bill 2019
- Non-profit Bodies (Freedom to Advocate) Bill 2019.

The committee makes the following recommendations:

- 1. That:
 - (a) the provisions of the Right to Farm Bill 2019 be referred to the Portfolio Committee No. 4 Industry for inquiry and report,
 - (b) the bill be referred to the committee upon receipt of the message on the bill from the Legislative Assembly,
 - (c) that the committee report by Monday 21 October 2019, and
 - (d) on the report being tabled, a motion may be moved immediately for the first reading and printing of the bill and that the bill proceed through all remaining stages according to standing and sessional orders.
- 2. That the following bills not be referred to a standing committee for inquiry and report, this day:
 - (a) Road Transport Amendment (Miscellaneous) Bill 2019
 - (b) Non-profit Bodies (Freedom to Advocate) Bill 2019.

Natasha Maclaren-Jones MLC **Chair** 24 September 2019